Board of Education

The 2023 Montville Township Board of Education Members: John Petrozzino, Charles Grau, Michael Palma, Dr. Karen Cortellino, Dr. David Modrak (President), Michelle Zuckerman (VP), Christine Fano, Joseph Daughtry, and Michael Rappaport.

The Montville Township Board of Education consists of nine members who are each elected for a three-year term.  The Board serves as the policy-making body which governs the school district.  Board elections are held in connection with the November general election.

The Board's principal responsibility is to establish policy. The Board is also responsible for the selection of the superintendent, the initial appointment or reappointment of personnel; the approval of the curriculum, textbooks, and supporting materials; the process of negotiations with those organizations that represent the professional and non-professional staff; the formulation of the budget; creation of the school calendar; the maintenance of the existing facilities; and research and planning of new facilities.